TRAIL 2016 (Training and Research on the Archaeological Interpretation of LiDAR)

origine_particip
Origin of the participants

TRAIL 2016 (Training and Research on the Archaeological Interpretation of LiDAR) took place in Domaine national de Chambord (Loir-et-Cher, France) from 17th to 20th May 2016. This international meeting builds on two previous meetings (TRAIL 2011 and 2014), and was devoted to the study of LiDAR (Light Detection and Ranging) applications in archaeology, with a special focus on projects in in forests and woodlands.

They were organized as part of SOLiDAR regional project (coord. X. Rodier and C. Laplaige, UMR 7324 CITERES-LAT (Université François-Rabelais de Tours/CNRS), which is part of the interdisciplinary programme of research and innovation Intelligence des Patrimoines, the LEA ModeLTER and in partnership with the Domaine national de Chambord, the DRAC Centre-Val de Loire, the ISA network, the european network Archeolandscape,  the zone atelier Loire, the companies Helimap and Sintegra, and RTR Image.

This international meeting brought together specialists in exploration and processing of LiDAR data, archaeologists, biologists, physicists and forest management experts to present the latest methodological advances and discuss different ways of understanding and integrating the results of LiDAR surveys. A total of 70 people from North America, Central America and throughout Europe, were gathered during these 4 days.

The meeting included both plenary sessions and workshops, and emphasizes promoting exchanges between different specialisms. This year key themes were:

  • the links between human practices (pastoral, forestry etc.) and their microtopographic signatures
  • data interpretation and management on a regional or national level
  • advanced data processing
  • automatic processing of LiDAR data

chateau-chambord

Programme

Registration

Back to...

Retour en haut de page

Journées de travail internationales TRAIL 2016

origine_particip
Origine des participants

 

Le TRAIL 2016 (Training and Research on the Archaeological Interpretation of LiDAR) s’est déroulé au Domaine national de Chambord (Loir-et-Cher, France) du 17 au 20 mai 2016. Ces journées internationales, faisant suite au large succès rencontré lors des deux précédentes éditions (2011 et 2014), ont été consacrées à l’utilisation des données LiDAR (Light Detection and Ranging) principalement sous couvert boisé dans le cadre de la recherche archéologique.

Elles ont été organisées dans le cadre du projet régional SOLiDAR (coord. X. Rodier et C. Laplaige, UMR 7324 CITERES-LAT (Université François-Rabelais de Tours/CNRS), du programme interdisciplinaire de recherche et d’innovation Intelligence des Patrimoines, du LEA ModeLTER et en partenariat avec le Domaine national de Chambord, la DRAC Centre-Val de Loire, le réseau ISA, le réseau européen Archaeolandscape, la zone atelier Loire, les sociétés Helimap et Sintegra, et le RTR Image.

Cette rencontre internationale a regroupé des spécialistes de prospection et de traitement des données LiDAR, des archéologues, des biologistes, des physiciens ainsi que des professionnels de la gestion forestière afin de présenter les dernières avancées méthodologiques et d’échanger sur les différentes manières d’appréhender et d’intégrer les résultats des prospections LiDAR. Au total, 70 personnes venant d’Amérique du nord, d’Amérique Centrale et de toute l’Europe, ont été réunis durant ces 4 journées.

Les journées ont été partagées entre sessions plénières et ateliers afin de favoriser les échanges entre les différentes spécialités. Cette année, l’accent a été plus particulièrement mis sur :

  • les liens entre pratiques humaines (pastorales, sylvicoles etc.) et signatures microtopographiques des anomalies
  • l’interprétation des données et la gestion de couvertures LiDAR à l’échelle régionale ou nationale
  • le traitement avancé des données
  • la détection automatisée des objets archéologiques sur les données LiDAR

chateau-chambord

Programme

Inscription

Retour sur...

Retour en haut de page